Life (and Lack Thereof) of a Modern Housemommy

One women's journey of self-discovery AFTER love, marriage and the baby carriage…

Happy 2011! January 10, 2011

Filed under: Random — housemommy @ 11:04 pm

Happy 2011, everyone!  I hope you haven’t given up on your new year’s resolutions yet, because I have a feeling 2011 is going to be one heck of a year.  I have a feeling 2011 is going to be My Year.  What are my resolutions for 2011? 

-Buy a house (our very first!)

-Graduate from college (Finally!)

-Take a vacation (well, why not?)

This year is going to be a year of change, so in honor of the new year and new beginnings, I’ve suggested 25 easy ways to make a change in your life.  Pick a few or try them all!

-Wear sunscreen.  Everyday!  Even a low SPF will better protect your skin and make you look lovely

-Journal.  Write a little everyday, every week, every few weeks.  It’s tough to commit to writing, but these are the best days of your life!  Don’t you want to remember them when you’re old and senile?

-Read.  Add some wrinkles to your brain!

-Volunteer.  Nothing will make you feel better, I promise.  Pick something you’re good at and use your talents to help the less fortunante

-Eat more veggies.  I know, I know…asparagus is stringy and weird.  I don’t care!  Veggies are good for you, so add them to every meal!

-Stop overwashing your hair.  It’s hard for me to pass on shampoo every other day too, but the professionals swear by it.

-De-clutter your space.   If your space is organized, your mind will be too.  Take a day and get rid of the four-year-old magazines beside the toilet.

-Say “I love you!”.  Nuff said.

-Exercise.  Need a great workout?  Try a Beach Body program.  It will kick your booty, but you will see amazing results (as long as you don’t cheat!)

-Remember.  Create a scrapbook, memory box, or photo album to help you remember the best year of your life!

-Call.  Haven’t spoken to Grammy in a while?  Don’t wait til the next holiday to talk to her. 

-Try something new.  New food, new style, new job…what do you have to lose?

-Face a fear.  I hate worms, but I killed one in my bathroom the other day in order to protect my child (who was three rooms away) from it’s squiggly grossness.  Whatever, it felt great!

-Wash your bed linens.  I know you’re not doing it once a week like you should!

-Send a thank-you card.  It’s a lost art, but it’s so nice and it will make you feel good

-Take a personal day.  Americans work too hard…if you’ve earned a personal day, take one!

-Pursue a passion.  Last year, I wanted to learn French.  Today, I only know about 30 words, but it’s 30 words more than I knew last January!  (PS, A great language-learning website is Livemocha.com

-Buy sexy underwear.  I KNOW you don’t have as many as you should.  

-Play.  With children.  With your partner.  With yourself ;)

-Get eight hours of sleep.  After you’re done playing, of course!

-Make peace.  With your ex, your sister, or yourself.  Don’t wait til next year!

-Kick the habit.  Do you smoke?  Swear?  Sext?  Kick the habit and feel better about your self control

-Donate.  You might have extra money, time or resources.  Whatever it is, donate a little to someone in need.  Are you a broke, busy hermit?  Take the easy route and support a meaningful cause at  The Petition Site!

-Analyze.  Life is short.  Take a look at where yours is going and make a change if you don’t like what you see.  It’s never too late to be a better you!

Happy 2011, everyone!  Let’s make this our best year yet!

 

Leave a Reply

