Life (and Lack Thereof) of a Modern Housemommy

One women's journey of self-discovery AFTER love, marriage and the baby carriage…

Travel, Turkey and Trouble with the In-Laws November 22, 2010

Filed under: Family — housemommy @ 5:08 pm

I love the holidays.  LOVE THEM!  You already know how excited I get about food, so an entire day dedicated to eating, drinking and being merry is right up my alley.  I also love cooking.  Green bean casseroles, beer roasted turkey, and pies (oh god…the pies!) make me happy, happy, happy.

So why am I dreading the holidays this year?

One word:  In-laws.

Let me back up.

My in-laws and I have had a very up-and-down kind of relationship.  When I first started dating Steve, I got along with his family pretty well.  We went flea-marketing together, took road trips together, sat together at Steve’s football games and held up little signs saying how much we loved him.  We had fun together–honest!  I have video recordings to prove it!

And then I got pregnant.

Not to say they weren’t excited about becoming grandparents, because they WERE.  What they were not excited about was my way of being pregnant (next to no alcohol, no medications, no riding four-wheelers through trails across western Pennsylvania even when my father in-law insisted that it was perfectly safe to let the baby “jiggle around a little”, etc.).  Once I gave birth to Theron, it became worse.  WAY worse.  They thought I should bottle feed when I was strictly nursing, they thought I was too overprotective…Steve’s dad actually asked, “Why is it taking you so long to lose all that weight?”.

Uh, yeah.

Needless to say, we butt heads a bit.  By that I mean, I’m the mother and I make the rules.  If you don’t like it, too bad.  If you break my rules, you WILL hear about it and we WILL have a problem.  Period.

So now I’m a bitch, apparently.

Which is why I am NOT looking forward to spending hour after hour pretending I want to be stuck in a room with the lot of them this Thanksgiving.  What am I thankful for this year?  Going home!

Why do we have to spend Thanksgiving with our extended family?  Why can’t we make our own rules for how we spend the holidays?  I want to engorge myself with yummy food and sit around in my pajamas all day enjoying my children and a rare day off with my hubby. 

Ugh.

Well wherever you happen to spend your holidays this year, I hope you enjoy it.  Just in case you’re going to be stuck spending the holidays with people you don’t like, print off a few of these easy Thanksgiving coloring sheets from American Baby Magazine.  You’ll look like a young, fabulous Angelina Jolie while entertaining the kiddos and avoiding the chaos of the adults in the other room!

 

One Response to “Travel, Turkey and Trouble with the In-Laws”

  1. Very nice text, thank you.


Leave a Reply

