Life (and Lack Thereof) of a Modern Housemommy

One women's journey of self-discovery AFTER love, marriage and the baby carriage…

Breaking the Rules November 10, 2010

Filed under: Discovery — housemommy @ 2:57 pm

I was driving home from Target today thinking about my blog and feeling crappy about myself.  As you all well know, I have a master’s degree in Breaking the Promises I Make to Myself with a concentration in Shame, Guilt and Procrastination.  I don’t remember the last time I wrote an entry here, and I was feeling bad about it.  Especially since I had already made myself  a goal to write at least once a week for six months.   

Yeah that didn’t work out so well…

I would forget, or put it off, or find something better to do during my very limited free time (like nap…or shower).  Whatever the excuse though, I had been putting off writing for several weeks, and it pissed me off.

I never do the things I say I’m going to do.

You know what though?  I’ve decided it’s ok.  I’m allowed to break promises to myself.  I’m allowed to take a nap if I want to.  It’s not the end of the world if I miss deadline, because that is me.  That’s the way I am and I shouldn’t feel guilty about the choices I make. 

The whole point of this blog is to figure out a little bit about myself.  I like to cook.  I like to take photographs.  I like giving people advice about clothes and toys and books even though I have zero qualifications to do so.  I’m never on time.  I’ve got a scatterbrain.  I don’t always use punctuation marks correctly.

I never do the things I say I’m going to do.

And that’s me.  Love it or leave it.

 

Leave a Reply

