Life (and Lack Thereof) of a Modern Housemommy

One women's journey of self-discovery AFTER love, marriage and the baby carriage…

Unforgettable September 25, 2010

Filed under: Random — housemommy @ 9:26 am

Last night I went to the homecoming game at my former high school.  Of course, being the old fart that I am, I didn’t know anyone on the court, but that wasn’t altogether surprising.  I like the high-school-football-atmosphere, the food and of course seeing old friends and classmates (with it being, you know…homecoming and all).  So imagine my shock when former classmate after former classmate walked right past me with absolutely no idea who I was.  Teachers I had spent entire semesters with responded to my enthusiastic greetings with a half-hearted, “oh, um…hi there”…

Whhaaaattttt??!

I grew up in a tiny town.  My graduating class only consisted of 66 people total.  I may not have been the most popular girl in school, but I actively participated in various extracurriculars.  I was even student council president!  And it’s not as though I’ve been out of school for decades…I graduated in 2006.  So why am I so obviously forgettable?  Why could people see right through me?  Could I have (perish the thought) peaked in highschool?

I don’t want to be the girl no one remembers.  I don’t want to fade into the background of my life.  I want to show up to my ten-year class reunion and have people recognize my face for heaven’s sake…

Recognize any familiar faces?

I don’t have a solution yet.  I don’t even have a plan.  I just know I’m not happy about being invisible, and I’m not prepared to accept that for myself.

 

One Response to “Unforgettable”

  1. S Says:

    Maybe it’s more that you haven’t peaked yet. The people everyone remembers from high school are more often than not at the pinnacle of their popularity and talent when they’re 18, and while it’s great at the time, it’s ultimately a bit sad!

    (found your blog b/c of Ellen!)


Leave a Reply

