Life (and Lack Thereof) of a Modern Housemommy

One women's journey of self-discovery AFTER love, marriage and the baby carriage…

List Item #17 August 26, 2010

Filed under: Discovery,Family — housemommy @ 1:44 am

I was recently inspired by my cousin (and dear friend), Nicole, to write a “30 before 30” list–a list of 30 things I wanted to do/see/accomplish before I turned 30 years of age  (to be honest, she was writing a 40 before 40 list, but again, I’m a bit of an underachiever).  My list includes all kinds of things:  Parasailing, rock climbing, travelling around the world…I thought it would be years before I accomplished any of them (I am, after all, notorious for leaving projects unfinished), so imagine my surprise when I got home from vacation this morning and realized I could scratch off not one list item, but TWO!

Let me backtrack: in a very uncharacteristic act of spontaneity, my husband and I decided to pack up the kids and drive to Virginia Beach for a few days (List Item #12)  Go on a road trip).  It was glorious!  The sand, the surf…the ability to walk around in a bikini…

List item #17)  Wear a bikini in public

Now, wearing a bikini may not be such a big deal for most young women in their 20’s, but I have given birth to two children.  Don’t get me wrong–I revel in my body’s ability to produce and sustain life.  I’m a mother, a goddess!  On the other hand, my poor 20-something body has totally trashed by the pregnancies and births of my children.  And by trashed I mean stretch marks, an “accordion” belly, and other horrors that shall not be mentioned here.

When we walked down to the beach I had my swimming suit on, but it was cleverly hidden underneath shorts and a tank top.  I had no intention of removing my clothes, but it’s hot in Virginia in the middle of August!  It’s hot and I have every right to wear whatever I feel like wearing!  I am a mother and a goddess, goddamnit…so off they went. 

And I haven’t felt so liberated in years.

 

One Response to “List Item #17”

  1. Nicole Says:

    This is your best post yet! (and not b/c I’m mentioned in the first line. ;) I’m really proud of you for already accomplishing 2 items on your list! (have you finished the list yet? I haven’t.) And way to rock the bathing suit! Photo = gorgeous!


Leave a Reply

