Life (and Lack Thereof) of a Modern Housemommy

One women's journey of self-discovery AFTER love, marriage and the baby carriage…

Who are you and what do you want? June 18, 2010

Filed under: Discovery — housemommy @ 8:05 pm

For years my husband has been telling me I should write a book, but I’m a bit of an underachiever so I suppose a blog will have to suffice for now.

Who am I? 

I’m a mother. I have two beautiful children–a 17 month-old son and a two month old daughter.  I quit my job as a nanny to stay home with them everyday and while I love watching them learn and grow into little individuals, the bordem of being alone with them on a regular basis is enough to make me want to hitch a ride to Mexico and never come back.

I’m a wife.  I married my high school sweetheart, Steve, on April 1, 2009 at a little courthouse just outside the town we both grew up in.  Firstly, the answer is yes–I was wholly aware at the time that our wedding date would be on  April Fools Day.  I chose that day anyway because I thought it was strangely appropraite for our relationship.  Laughter, I’ve decided, is the key to a successful marriage (but more about my philosophies on relationships later).  Secondly, if you’re clever enough to do the math you’ll realize that if my wedding was in April, I’ve been married for 15 months.  15 month old wedding…17 month old toddler…you see where I’m going with this, yes?  I know pregnancies out of wedlock are so commonplace these days it really shouldn’t matter (thank you Brangelina), but I can’t help myself–I still think it’s funny.  Of course, I grew up attending a very conservative Baptist church, so maybe it’s amusing because this is my one truly legitimate act of rebellion, but I’m getting off track…Where was I?

Oh, yes.  I’m a student.  I began my college career attending Slippery Rock University for Elementary Education, but dropped out after I had my son.  Never one to accept cliches for my life (baby out of wedlock, college dropout, barefoot and pregnant…ugh!), I decided it was of vital importance that I finish my education, even after I realized how much I hated my major.  Allow me to reiterate:  I. Do. Not. Want. To. Teach. Elementary. School.  I have no interest at all whatsoever in spending all day surrounded by young children.  I need something more intellectually stimulating than “In fourteen hundred and nintey-two Columbus sailed the ocean blue!”.  This distaste for my major didn’t keep me from continuing to pursue a degree in Education when I transferred to the University of Phoenix, however.  Why you ask?  Well, mostly because I was half finished with my degree already and I was too lazy to start from scratch again.  What a waste of time and money!  I just want to finish my degree.  To be able to say, “Why yes, I graduated from college even after getting married and having children.”  Graduating is something I need for myself.  Also, when my children are older I don’t want them to look at me and think I’m a big dummy and a failure.  So here I am…five years into it and still plodding along.

The truth is, I lack direction.  I don’t know what my life has in store for me.  I named this blog the Life (and Lack Thereof) of a Modern Housemommy, because I’m really on a mission to find purpose.  I want to wake up and feel excited about my day.  I want to feel like I’m making a difference.  I want passion! 

I also want readers, so I suppose I’ll stop there for now.

So that’s me.  At least, that’s a little bit of me.  I suppose there’s only so much Crista a person can take in one blog entry.  If you’ve kept reading this far, by the way, thanks!  I don’t know if what I’m writing will be of interest to anyone else, but this is mostly an exercise for myself (so keep it to yourself, haters!).  If you decide to take the journey with me, that’s great too.  I hope we all find what we’re looking for…and maybe learn a thing or two in the process.

Welcome aboard!

Crista

 

One Response to “Who are you and what do you want?”

  1. Nicole Says:

    Great start! Can’t wait to see where you take this. :) And ditto to the whole “wanting to wake up & be excited about my day…” thing – totally agree!


Leave a Reply

